Meandering down a path of Creativity

Hello world!

Hi there!

I made this blog account a few weeks ago (before the new year) and have been hemming and hawing over what to write for my first post. After much thought and debate, I decided that the best thing to do would be to introduce myself to you. Once I decided that, I needed to figure out what you might like to know about me and a good format for it- I’ve spent the last 2 weeks working on that. Hopefully what I type below will work as a good introduction as to who I am, where my interests lie and what you can expect to read about in future posts.

So I guess to start, we’ll run through the basics:
Name: Melanie, aka Zoe

Age: 38? 37? 39? I dunno, somewhere in there!

Happily married; no children; my mother is living with us, temporarily.

Pets: 1 dog & 2 cats
Murray- a 4-year old ball of energy we rescued when he was about 6 months old. As near as we can tell, he’s a mix of terrier, border collie, and possibly poodle… he looks a bit like a miniature Irish wolfhound, though.
Dobbie- a 2-year old formerly feral cat we ended up bringing in, domesticating and adopting. He’s blind in one eye and a little bit spastic, but a real sweetie.
Gianni (aka Cranky Old Man)- 12-year old black cat who has no time or patience for the shenanigans of the other 2 animals in the house. If he were human, he’d be the guy who sits in his rocker on the porch, yelling at the kids, “Get off of my lawn!”

I will do my best to keep my political and religious views to myself, but in case anyone is wondering, I’d probably best be described as a True Universalist Libertarian. In other words, you do your thing, I’ll do mine, and as long as no one is getting hurt, it’s all good.

I am a second degree Reiki Practitioner and am fascinated by the metaphysical properties of herbs & gemstones.

So, that’s the basic background there. Now, on to the fun stuff- my interests, and what you can expect to find here in the future!

I like sci-fi/fantasy, though I’m not particularly knowledgeable about the genre- I know more than the average person, but nowhere near as much as most people who you’d find at a convention. I’m a bibliophile- I prefer fiction, and for ‘light & fluffy’ reading, think that not much beats a good bodice ripper. One of my most prized possessions is a copy of the Complete Works of Edgar Allen Poe. Oh, and most anyone who knows me can tell you that my love of pretty boxes, jars and the like borders on a container addiction!

My hobby-type interests all pretty much boil down to one thing- being creative.

I love to cook and feed people, but am terrible at following recipes or writing down what I’m doing. I’ve been cooking since I could reach the top of the stove by standing on a step stool. I like to tweak and personalize recipes, and although I do have some that don’t come out as well as I’d like, I’m pretty good at it.

I also love to work with metal and glass, creating jewelry and functional art. As a woman of a larger frame who is sensitive to most metals, it can be difficult for me to find jewelry that fits properly in the stores, so I started making my own. In addition to metal, stones, glass and beads, I do some work with metal clay.

Cooking and metalwork are very soothing to me; I find it to be meditative. That is why I named my jewelry business “Zoe’s Zen Garden”. (I’d sell my culinary creations, too, but that requires way too much of a start up investment, with all of the red tape, licensing, and legal requirements for the workspace. Instead, I’ll offer up the recipes so you can try them for yourself!)

I also enjoy drawing, painting, gardening & food preservation (canning, drying, etc). I know how to knit, crochet and sew, but I honestly don’t enjoy it, so I leave that to those who do enjoy it. I enjoyed working with ceramics, but it’s messy and I hate having gunk under my nails, LOL. I may take it up again one day, but for now I have enough on my plate!

Things that I want to learn: welding (my hubby has promised to teach me this summer!); woodworking & cabinetry; wood carving; wood turning; food smoking; glass slumping (if all goes well, I should begin learning this from a friend this spring!)

So, that’s me, in a nutshell.

As far as what I’ll be sharing here in future posts, well, it’ll probably be a bit of a mish-mash of my interests. I am starting of with a grand plan of posting here 3-4 times each week. I am hoping to have 1 day devoted to special projects, 1 day for allergy friendly food and cookery, and 1 day for sharing web finds, promoting the work of my amazingly talented artist friends, etc. I would also like to do a 4th day where I post fun stuff- silly games and puzzles, pretty photos, etc; but don’t want to bite off more than I can chew, so we’ll see how it goes.

Anyway, I hope that you’ll enjoy reading my ramblings, and that maybe I’ll help inspire you to stretch your creative muscles a bit.

Wishing you a wonderful week!
Namaste!

Comments on: "Hello world!" (2)

  1. wow! what is glass slumping?
    welcome to the blog world!

  2. Thanks!

    Glass slumping is shaping molten glass. Basically, you take glass and heat it to the appropriate temperature, then through the use of molds and heat control, you can shape it. Have you ever seen the liquor bottles that have been flattened to be used as a spoon rest or little cheese plate? They’re made by slumping.

    I tend to lump fusing in with slumping, since they’re both dealing with molten glass, but they are different. Fusing is when you take 2 or more different pieces of glass (often different colors) and heat them so that they join together. There are some really gorgeous examples of both here: http://glassart.wordpress.com/

    I’m really excited to give it a try! I got my frit order yesterday, so now I just need to get together with my friend and start the learning process! (Frit is little chunks of glass that are often used to add color in the fusing process.)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

