Meandering down a path of Creativity

Gardening thoughts…

It’s amazing how much gardening stuff one can amass as we go through, experimenting with different methods of growing all the different varieties of veggies! I decided that the stuff I’m not using needs to be put to work…

I have been getting ready for garden season to start up for a few weeks, planning, taking inventory of what we have and what we need, starting seeds, and all that stuff. I realized the other day that I have a bunch of seeds that aren’t going to get used before their viability becomes very questionable, and that I have some peat pots that aren’t the right size for my needs. Now, those who know me well can tell you that I am generally very reluctant to throw something away if it still has life in it, but this stuff is getting in the way of me being able to do what needs doing, so it has to go!

I thought about it for a while and decided that life had just handed me an opportunity to be a force for good. I took all those seeds and the pots, plus some seed starting mix, and made up some garden starter kits to give to families who are struggling- I know there are many these days. I posted the offer on Freecycle, asking that only those who are truly in need respond and got 3 takers fairly quickly. I still have enough of most of the supplies needed to make several more kits, and am thinking that I will contact the local food pantry to see if they would like to stock them for their patrons. I’ll have to buy a few things, but it shouldn’t be much more than $10-15 to restock the seed envelopes and potting mix… It’s not much, but it might help keep healthy food on the table through the summer, and hopefully allow some folks to gain a little ground… not to mention hopefully giving some kids the opportunity to really connect with and gain an understanding of where food comes from!

Now, why am I writing about this? Am I just bragging up on having done something good? No, that is not it at all. There is a reason that I’m writing this here. In those kits, I included some info to help the recipients with getting their gardens going- the process of starting the seeds, transplanting, harvesting, and saving seeds for next year’s garden (all but 1 of the varieties included in the kits was organic and heirloom)… I had intended for it to be 1 page, front and back. It ended up being 5 pages! And I’m realizing that there was a lot that I left out! So I’m thinking that this is going to be a garden-focused blog for a while.

I’m going to include the blog address in those kits, and let the Freecycle people know it, too. That way I can update with tips and thoughts as they occur to me, and the people who need the info will hopefully be able to find it easily.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

